Sign-Up for our Newsletter

DON'T BE TRICKED! We want to help protect you from scammers that attempt to trick you into paying for a pet. All pets on Home To Home should be free. No rehoming or adoption fees are allowed through this site. Review our policies and guidelines.

Mochi

Contact the Owner

Please register to contact the owner about this pet.

About

Breed

American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier

Age

5 Years

Gender

Female

Size

Large (> 40 lbs.)

Can Live With

  • Dogs
  • Older Children (12+)

Spayed/Neutered

Yes

Current on Vaccines

Yes

Specialized Care

  • Behavior Concerns

Location

New York, NY

Biography

Unfortunately due to life circumstances, we have to give up our sweet girl, Mochi. We adopted Mochi in 2020 from Hearts and Bones Rescue in NYC, and she has been the best part of our family the past 4 years.

Adopters that would be a good fit: Owner/family that is active and committed to giving her lots of exercise and enrichment. Mochi LOVES playing ball, swimming in pools, lakes, oceans, and zooming in open fields. Ideally she has space in her new home for play.

Training: Mochi went through a 6 week board and train program and responds extremely well to people who will set a boundary from Day 1. She is currently being fostered by one of her trainers, and would be coming from a structured environment we'd like to continue. We'll pay for a few 1:1 training sessions with her trainer to make sure there is consistency with whoever adopts her.

- Perfectly potty trained (no house accidents, goes potty as soon as she goes outside in the morning/evening)
- Crate trained (sleeps in crate)
- Good leash walker
- Recall on her e-collar

Behavior: Mochi has a history of reactivity in certain situations (men who enter her space, people on the street who act 'off', etc.) but is well trained and can be managed with the current structure she has in place. If you keep the boundaries, she will be a well behaved dog. She is extremely sweet and cuddly, and will lay on top of you and snore like she's a lap dog. It's best if this is only during structured times, though.

Other animals/kids: She LOVES other dogs, and is best with dogs her size or bigger than her. She would be best in a house without kids/cats.

Trigger shelter registration modal